Daily Briefing October 17, 2018

 

We need the help of every New Yorker to save small business in NYC. Gentrification and greedy land lords are forcing the closure of small business all across the city. The Small Business Jobs Survival Act (SBJSA) is a bill that has been introduced in the NYC City Council that would give commercial tenants three specific rights: A minimum 10-year lease with the right to renewal, so they can better plan for the future of their business. Equal negotiation terms when it comes time to renew their lease with recourse to binding arbitration by a 3rd party if fair terms can not be found. Restrictions to prevent landlords from passing their property taxes on to small business owners. The law would create a quick step by step process to arrive at fair lease terms. One which is controlled by both parties and can be stopped at anytime by mutual consent. An arbitration process, which gives both parties equal opportunity to present their arguments for their reasonable terms of the lease. A process which takes into consideration the unique nature of every business and every business community, where the arbitrator’s decision is guided by strict criteria and based upon a case by case situation to decide fair and reasonable lease terms. Below is a list of City Council members, please call them and tell them to pass the Small Business Jobs Survival Act without changes.

 

Dist 1 Margaret S. Chin mguerra@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7259

Dist 2 Carlina Rivera District2@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7366

Dist 3 Corey Johnson SpeakerJohnson@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-6979

Dist 4 Keith Powers KPowers@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7393

Dist 5 Ben Kallos BKallos@BenKallos.com / 212-788-6865

Dist 6 Helen Rosenthal Helen@HelenRosenthal.com / 212-788-6975

Dist 7 Mark Levine District7@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7007

Dist 8 Diana Ayala DAyala@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-6960

Dist 9 Bill Perkins D09perkins@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7397

Dist 10 Ydanis Rodriguez yrodriguez@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7053

Dist 11 Andrew Cohen District11@council.nyc.gov / 212 788-7080

Dist 12 Andy King Andy.King@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-6873

Dist 13 Mark Gjona MGjonaj@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7375

Dist 14 Fernando Cabrera fcabrera@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7074

Dist 15 Ritchie J. Torres Rtorres@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-6966

Dist 16 Vanessa L. Gibson District16Bronx@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-6856

Dist 17 Rafael Salamanca, Jr. salamanca@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7384

Dist 18 Ruben Diaz, Sr. RDiaz@council.nyc.gov / 718-792-1140

Dist 19 Paul Vallone district19@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7250

Dist 20 Peter Koo pkoo@council.nyc.gov / 718-888-8747

Dist 21 Francisco Moya FMoya@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-6862

Dist 22 Costa Constantinides Costa@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-6963

Dist 23 Barry Grodenchik m23@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7075

Dist 24 Rory I. Lancman RLancman@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-6956

Dist 25 Daniel Dromm dromm@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7066

Dist 26 Jimmy Van Bramer JVanBramer@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7370

Dist 27 I. Daneek Miller District27@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7084

Dist 28 Adrienne E. Adams Adams@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-6850

Dist 29 Karen Koslowitz Koslowitz@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-6981

Dist 30 Robert Holden District30@council.nyc.gov / 212.788.7381

Dist 31 Donovan J. Richards drichards@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7216

Dist 32 Eric A. Ulrich eulrich@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7069

Dist 33 Stephen T. Levin slevin@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7348

Dist 34 Antonio Reynoso areynoso@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7095

Dist 35 Laurie A. Cumbo LCumbo@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7081

Dist 36 Robert E. Cornegy, Jr. district36@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7354

Dist 37 Rafael L. Espinal, Jr. REspinal@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7284

Dist 38 Carlos Menchaca info38@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7372

Dist 39 Brad Lander lander@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-6969

Dist 40 Mathieu Eugene mathieu.eugene@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7352

Dist 41 Alicka Ampry-Samuel District41@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7387

Dist 42 Inez Barron Ibarron@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-6957

Dist 43 Justin Brannan AskJB@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7363

Dist 44 Kalman Yeger AskKalman@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7357

Dist 45 Jumaane D. Williams JWilliams@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-6859

Dist 46 Alan N. Maisel AMaisel@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7286

Dist 47 Mark Treyger MTreyger@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7045

Dist 48 Chaim M. Deutsch cdeutsch@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7360

Dist 49 Deborah Rose DROSE@Council.nyc.gov / 212-788-6972

Dist 50 Steven Matteo SMatteo@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-7159

Dist 51 Joseph C. Borelli borelli@council.nyc.gov / 212-788-6989

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.